CBSE 8th Science

Conservation of Plants and Animals

A great variety of plants and animals exist on earth. They are essential for the well being and survival of mankind.

Deforestation means clearing of forests and using that land for other purposes. Trees in the forests are cut for some of the purposes mentioned below:

  • Procuring land for cultivation
  • Building houses and factories
  • Making furniture or using wood as fuel

The increase in temperature on the earth disturbs the water cycle and may reduce rainfall. This can cause droughts.

Deforestation results in the conversion of fertile land into deserts because of less humus. This is called desertification.

Wildlife sanctuary, national park and biosphere reserve are names given to the areas meant for conservation and preservation of forest and wild animals.

Biodiversity refers to the variety of living organisms found in a specific area.

The plants and animals of a particular area are known as the flora and fauna of that area.

Endemic species are those species that are found only in a particular area and not anywhere else.

The endangered species are those which are facing the danger of extinction because their numbers are diminishing.

We should save, reuse and recycle paper to save trees, energy and water.

A project, that was launched to ensure the survival and maintenance of the tiger population are called Project Tiger.

Ecosystem is the term used for the interaction between the biotic and abiotic factors.

The biotic factors of the ecosystem are plants, animals and microorganisms, while the abiotic factors are climate, humidity, air, soil, etc.

Biodiversity: It refers to the variety of living organisms found in a specific area.

Biosphere Reserve: The area that is meant for the conservation of biodiversity, i.e., wildlife, plant and animal resources together with the traditional life of the tribals.

Deforestation: Cutting of the forests and using that land for other purposes, is called deforestation.

Desertification: The soil erosion leaves less humus and makes the soil infertile, and gradually that land converts into desert. It is called desertification.

Ecosystem: The interaction between the biotic (living) and abiotic (non-living) factors is called an ecosystem.

Endangered Animals: Those animals, whose numbers are diminishing to a level that they might face extinction, are known as endangered animals.

Endemic Species: The species of living organisms, that are found only in a particular area.

Extinct: Extinct species are those species who were present in the past but now they have completely vanished.

Flora and Fauna: The plants and animals, that are found in a particular area are termed as flora and fauna of that area.

Migratory Birds: Migratory birds fly to far away areas every year during a particular time because of the climatic changes in that area.

National Park: The reserved area for wildlife where they can freely use the habitats and natural resources.

Red Data Book: The sourcebook, which keeps a record of all endangered animals and plants.

Reforestation: It is restocking of the destroyed forests by planting new trees of the same species, which were existing in that forest.

Wildlife Sanctuaries: There are some areas, that are reserved in a forest, and where wild animals are protected and preserved, are known as wildlife sanctuaries.

ncert solutions
Combustion and Flame (Prev Lesson)
(Next Lesson) Cell Structure and Functions
Back to CBSE 8th Science
Send Message To Edu Spot