Structure Our Teeth

Structure Our Teeth

The teeth are the hardest substances in the human body. Besides being essential for chewing, the teeth play an important role in speech.

The food is cut by the teeth inside the mouth. Teeth mechanically break the food into small pieces. These teeth vary in appearance. Each tooth is rooted in a separate socket in the gums.

There are four types of teeth:

  • Incisors These are four chisel-shaped incisors at centre of each jaw for biting and cutting the food.
  • Canines These are two large pointed teeth just behind incisors in each jaw, for piercing and tearing the food.
  • Premolars These are four (two on each side) large premolars with the flat surface behind the canines in each jaw, for grinding and chewing.
  • Molars In an adult, these are six (three on each side) large molars with the flat surface behind the premolars in each jaw, for grinding.

Milk Teeth and Permanent Teeth
In human beings, teeth grow twice. The sets of teeth that grow during infancy (when one is a small baby), are called milh teeth. These are also called as temporary teeth. These teeth get loosen and fall off at the age of 6-8 years. When milh teeth fall off, a new sets of teeth grow in their place. This second set of teeth is called permanent teeth because these remain till the old age. But if these teeth fall down, no new teeth arise on its place.


Send Message To Edu Spot